You probably know some vegetarians, or perhaps you’re one yourself. But the term “vegetarian” can mean different things to different people:
• A true vegetarian eats no meat at all, including poultry and fish.
• A lacto-ovo vegetarian eats dairy products and eggs, but excludes meat, fish, and poultry.
• A lacto vegetarian eats dairy products but not eggs.
• An ovo vegetarian eats eggs but not dairy products.
And lots of people won’t eat red meat or pork but do eat poultry and/or seafood.
Less commonly practiced is the form of vegetarianism known as veganism. A vegan (pronounced: VEE-gun) doesn’t consume any animal-derived foods or use animal products or byproducts, and eats only plant-based foods, textured vegetable protein.
In addition to not eating meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, or dairy, vegans avoid using products made from animal sources, such as fur, leather, and wool.
While those are obvious animal products, many animal byproducts are things we might not even realize come from animals. These include:
• gelatin (made using meat byproducts)
• lanolin (made from wool)
• rennet (an enzyme found in the stomach of calves, young goats, and lambs that’s used in cheese-making)
• honey and beeswax (made by bees)
• silk (made by silkworms)
• shellac (the resinous secretion of the tiny lac insect)
• cochineal (a red dye derived from the cochineal insect)
Veganism (also known as strict vegetarianism or pure vegetarianism), as defined by the Vegan Society, is “a philosophy and way of living which seeks to exclude — as far as is possible and practical — all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose.”
You may try some medicinal herbs in your diet www.southamericanapothecary.com
Vegans also avoid toothpaste with calcium extracted from animal bones, if they are aware of it. Similarly, soap made from animal fat rather than vegetable fats is avoided. Vegans generally oppose the violence and cruelty involved in the meat, dairy, cosmetics, clothing, and other industries.
Article source : kidshealth.org/teen/food_fitness/nutrition/vegan.html
A well-planned vegetarian diet can meet the needs of people of all ages, including children, teenagers, and pregnant or breast-feeding women. The key is to be aware of your nutritional needs so that you plan a diet that meets them. Try and use Food dehydrator to get out the excess amount of water in your food www.rawfoodandkitchen.com/Best-Food-Dehydrator-Reviews-For-The-Raw-Food-Enthusiast
Types of vegetarian diets
When people think about a vegetarian diet, they typically think about a diet that doesn’t include meat, poultry or fish. But vegetarian diets vary in what foods they include and exclude:
• Lacto-vegetarian diets exclude meat, fish, poultry and eggs, as well as foods that contain them. Dairy products, such as milk, cheese, yogurt and butter, are included.
• Lacto-ovo vegetarian diets exclude meat, fish and poultry, but allow dairy products and eggs.
• Ovo-vegetarian diets exclude meat, poultry, seafood and dairy products, but allow eggs.
• Vegan diets exclude meat, poultry, fish, eggs and dairy products — and foods that contain these products.
Some people follow a semivegetarian diet — also called a flexitarian diet — which is primarily a plant-based diet but includes meat, dairy, eggs, poultry and fish on occasion or in small quantities.
Vegetarian diet pyramid
A healthy diet takes planning, and a food pyramid can be a helpful tool. The vegetarian pyramid outlines food groups and food choices that, if eaten in the right quantities, form the foundation of a healthy vegetarian diet.
Article source : mayoclinic.org/healthy-living/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/vegetarian-diet/art-20046446